Frank Maratta Auto Show & Race-A-Rama, March 2, 2013


Maratta 020313 019Click HERE for the full gallery of images from this event

Dave and I shook off the winter doldrums on Saturday at The Show of Dreams – Frank Maratta’s Auto & Race-A-Rama at the Better Living Center on the grounds of the Eastern States Exposition in West Springfield, MA. And what better way than looking at a good cross section of hot rods, imports, vintage, classic and muscle cars and bikes to get the first show of the 2013 season under our belts than at the 54th Maratta Show?

Ralph Barbagallo’s fine yellow Superbird and green Hemi ‘Cuda drew lots of admiring gazes, including mine. I had to smile when I saw Ralph’s daughter’s kid-size Dodge Charger on display. What else would a young tot drive? Sad to say, we couldn’t seem to find Ralph. I’m sure we’ll see him at one of the Burger King cruises.

We saw Laura Vega’s always-impressive Toyota Camry and had a chat with Sam Vega, president of CT’s Xotic Auto Club. We were sorry we left before Laura and little Noah arrived. Kim Kerr’s showstopper – the black “Mad Max” Falcon XB –always draws a crowd. I never get tired of checking out the car, or the Cruisin’ Photography show board he has on display. We never did find Kim, so hopefully we’ll catch up with him at another show this season. The Coca Cola truck, packed to the rafters with wooden cases of Coke, made me thirsty. The impressive Wintec Fabrication T Bucket won a Best Engine Award for its gleaming Hemi.

I was quite partial to the Limited Late-Model Camry that D. J. Burnham races at Stafford. I tried to convince my D(ave) Burnham to take the car home because it would sure look good in the driveway.

We got a first-hand look at Matt Zenisky’s (West Springfield, MA) 2013 Chevy Impala, and found out about the Granite State Pro Stock Series from its president, Mike Parks. Dave connected with his Facebook friend, Ron D’Alessandro and we learned more about his 2001 Raceworks Modified.

I’ve always been interested in racing…and spent a good portion of my childhood at different tracks around Connecticut with my dad, so I was excited to see the Silver City Quarter Midget Club display. Though my childhood aspiration was to work for either the Wood Brothers or Penske Racing, the midgets have always interested me.

I found Silver City racer Shawna Winters to be a very-poised 12-year old and an enjoyable interview. She explained that she “grew up around racing. My dad worked pit crew at Stafford and I told him I wanted to try racing. I’ve completed six seasons and will start my seventh at the end of April.”

Maratta 020313 016

Connect with Cruisin’ Photography on Facebook

Leave a Reply

